In Masonic Lodges, there are Non-Progressive and Progressive Officers which are appointed each year at the Installation of the new Master.

Each year, a Brother normally moves through the Progressive Offices on a journey from Steward, to Inner Guard, via the Deacons and Wardens, to the highest honour within a Lodge – the Master.

Non-Progressive offices are usually occupied by members who are Past Masters of the Lodge and tend to be occupied by the same person for a number of years, to provide continuity and experience, e.g. Secretary, Treasurer, Almoner etc.

Immediate Past Master – W. Bro. Stewart Braddock

The Immediate Past Master is normally the preceding year’s Worshipful Master. Although not actually an office (as the position is his by right), the IPM is normally the previous Master and acts as a guide and support to the Master when needed. He sits on the immediate left of the Worshipful Master.

Officers of The Iron Bridge Lodge, No. 9897

Worshipful Master – W. Bro. Simon Clayton

The Master is elected by the Lodge members every year and is then installed in to his office. He sits at the East end of the Lodge and is usually Master for one year. He is in charge of the Lodge during his tenure of office and acts as its chairman. He also normally conducts the ceremonies in the Lodge. Being elected and installed as Master is the highest honour a Lodge can bestow on any of its members.

Senior Warden – W. Bro. Mark Ashton

The Senior Warden sits opposite the Master at the West end of the Lodge and is usually the next Master.  He works with the Master and Junior Warden in running the Lodge.

Junior Warden – Bro. Colin Smith

The Junior Warden sits in the South of the Lodge and will normally progress to Senior Warden. It is the role of the Junior Warden to ensure that no unqualified person enters the Lodge. He works with the Master and Senior Warden in running the Lodge.

Chaplain – W. Bro. Dave Percy, BEM

All meetings begin and end with prayer and it is the role of the Lodge Chaplain to lead the members in this part of the meeting.

Treasurer – W. Bro. Dave Hedley

Dave Hedley2

The Treasurer is responsible for Lodge finances. He produces annual accounts, which are audited before being approved by the Lodge. Subscriptions are decided in Lodge on the Treasurer’s recommendation.

Secretary – W. Bro. Gary Scott

The Secretary has responsibility for the smooth administration of the Lodge. He is the main conduit for communication from Grand Lodge and Provincial Grand Lodge of Shropshire. He is also responsible for organising and distributing the summons notifying the members of the agenda for the next meeting.

Director of Ceremonies (DC) – W. Bro. Tony Clayton

 Tony Clayton2

The role of the DC is to organise and oversee the ceremonies held in the Lodge and to ensure all other officers concerned in any ritual are aware of their roles. This is usually achieved by meticulous rehearsals. It is also part of his responsibilities to see that the ceremonies are conducted with dignity and decorum.

Almoner – W. Bro. Stewart Braddock

The Almoner is the Lodge welfare officer. He maintains contact with the widows of members and with those who are ill or indisposed. He is also trained to assist those who are in financial need. He therefore has a knowledge of the variety of resources that exist in time of need.

Charity Steward – Vacant

The role of the Charity Steward is to organise the charity collections in the Lodge and to suggest to the Lodge to which charities (Masonic or non-Masonic) the members may wish to subscribe.

 Membership Officer – W. Bro. Dave Percy.

Mentor – W. Bro. Andy Delamere

Every joining member (until he has been through the Masters Chair) has a Mentor to assist him. The Lodge Mentor is to ensure that each mentor is looking after his mentee correctly.

Senior Deacon – Bro. James Buckley

The Senior Deacon accompanies the candidate during the ceremonies of the Three Degrees in the Lodge and works closely with the Junior Deacon. The collar and jewel for both Deacons is identical. They carry a wand as a badge of their office.

Junior Deacon – W. Bro. Ray Dickson 

IMG_4889 (1)

The Junior Deacon accompanies the candidate during the ceremonies of the Three Degrees in the Lodge and works closely with the Senior Deacon. The collar and jewel for both Deacons is identical. They carry a wand as a badge of their office.

Assistant Director of Ceremonies – W. Bro. Jon. Hughes

Jon Hughes2

The role of the ADC is to assist and to understudy the Director of Ceremonies in his office.

Organist – W. Bro. Steve Pritchard-Jones (Honorary Member)

The Organist’s role is to provide the music for the meetings and ceremonies.

Assistant Secretary – W. Bro. Brian Goodwin

The role of the Assistant Secretary is to help and understudy the Secretary. In some Lodges he has responsibility for the dining arrangements.

Inner Guard –  Bro. Peter Williams

The Inner Guard sits just inside the door of the Lodge. He is responsible for checking that all those who enter the Lodge are qualified to do so.


This is the first office in the lodge. The Stewards’ main function is to assist the other officers in their duties and at the dinner following the Lodge meeting (the festive board)

W. Bro. Simon Clare (Senior Steward)

 Bro. Keith Attrill

 Bro. Dom. Howitt

Bro. Jason McComb

Bro. Gareth Pugh

This is a new office and the person helps the secretary with the membership records of every member

Tyler – W. Bro. Rowlie Bricknall (Honorary Member)

Rowlie Bricknall2

This office is usually occupied by members who are Past Masters of the Lodge and can be occupied by the same person for a number of years or done on a rota basis. The Tyler guards the outside of the door to the entrance of the Lodge. This is an elected office. He has responsibility for preparing the candidates prior to their entering the Lodge.

Other members of the lodge who are not currently in office

W. Bro. Allan Binstead

Allan Binstead2


W. Bro. Russell Brooks

Russell Brooks2

W. Bro. Ashley Clayton

Ashley Clayton2

W. Bro. Winston Cree


 Bro. Si Dennis

Bro. Tails Evans


W. Bro. Andy Green

W. Bro. Ed Hall


W. Bro. Dennis Hill


Bro. Chris Hodson


W. Bro. David Johnson

R. W. Bro. Roger Pemberton


W. Bro. Mick Rhodes

W. Bro. Stephen Rogers


Bro. Steve Venezia



Bro. Glenn Ward


Bro. John


Bro. Gary Watton

W. Bro. John Williamson


W. Bro. Shaun Willocks


W. Bro. Richard Webster


Bro. Matt Ziola

Other member who we do not have a picture of is Bro. Dave Gibson.

Our other Honorary members are:-

             W. Bro. Mark Greenburgh                              W. Bro. Melvin Gough


      W. Bro. Paul Grier                    W. Bro. Dave Kettle


         W. Bro. Edward Lord                W. Bro. David Staples


      R. W. Bro. Peter Taylor     R. W. Bro. David Williamson


Our Other Honorary member is W. Bro John Norman

Home   News     Meeting-Dates     What-is-Freemasonry     Links     Contact Us